Skip Navigation

Registry Examination

The scope of knowledge for the Registry exam is defined in the National Institutes of Justice publication Death Investigation: A Guide for the Scene Investigator and further defined in the Performance Training Guidebook Checklist. For an online practice test, you can visit Occupational Research and Assessment.

The 240 multiple choice examination covers factual knowledge, technical information, understanding the principles and problem-solving abilities related to the profession. The examination is divided into 8 sections as outlined in the checklist and in the Medicolegal Death Investigator training text (Clark, Ernst, Jentzen, and Haglund, 1994). This text may be purchased from Occupational Research and Assessment. You have up to 4 hours to complete all 8 sections, which are:

  1. Interacting with Federal, State and Local Agencies
  2. Communicating
  3. Interacting with Families
  4. Investigating Deaths
  5. Identifying and Preserving Evidence
  6. Maintaining Ethical and Legal Responsibilities
  7. Demonstrating Scientific Knowledge
  8. Coping with Job-Related Stress

The American Board of Medicolegal Death Investigators complies with federal and state disability laws and makes reasonable accommodations for applicants with documented disabilities.